Ontario Claims Canada Cup National Championship, News (Terriers Baseball)

News Article
News Article Image
Aug 13, 2011 | Dan Thompson | 361 views
Ontario Claims Canada Cup National Championship
9 Terriers returning home with Gold ... Cal Quantrill records win in championship game with five innings of no hit ball ... Zack Sardellitti hits a home run ... Aug. 14, 2011 Moncton, NB - After defeating Manitoba 2-0 in a hard fought semi final, Ontario claimed the gold medal Sunday night in Moncton NB with a 3-2 victory over Team Saskatchewan. In the semi final, Mike Clouthier went five shut out innings, then was relieved by Dayton Dawe in the sixth.

Dayton would also close out the seventh, after Ontario had scored two runs in the bottom of the sixth, sparked by a Bruce Yari lead off double. Bruce eventually came around to score the winning run in the 2-0 win. In the tournament's other semi final, the boys in green had upset British Columbia 7-6, which set up the gold medal match with Ontario. In the championship game Ontario trailed 2-0 after just one inning, but catcher Zack Sardellitti cut the lead in half with a solo homer in the bottom of the second. Right hander Cal Quantrill was called upon to start the third inning, as the Ontario starter had struggled through the first two. Cal immediately stabilized the game for Ontario with a three up, three down third. He also cruised through the fourth and fifth striking out three. In the bottom of the fifth with the score still 2-1, Bruce Yari worked a lead off walk, advanced on a wild pitch, then tied the game on a single by Windsor's Jake Lumley. After Quantrill mowed down Saskatchewan in the sixth and seventh, Ontario scratched out the winning run in the bottom of the seventh after Nathan DeSouza worked a one out walk and eventually scored the championship winning run on a sacrifice fly by Toronto's Mitch Triolo. Quantrill topped off his gold medal win with also being named the championship game MVP and the tournament's Top Pitcher. Congratulations to 2011 Canada Cup Gold Medal Champions... Cal Quantrill, Travis Seabrooke, Toby Handley, Nathan DeSouza, Bruce Yari, Michael Clouthier, Dayton Dawe, Nick Dimpfel and Zack Sardellitti.