Terriers announce John Jepson Award winners, News (Terriers Baseball)

News Article
News Article Image
Sep 16, 2021 | Matt Betts | 835 views
Terriers announce John Jepson Award winners
In what has been an incredibly challenging year, the Ontario Terriers are proud to announce the five players who received the 2021 John Jepson Award.

Named in honour of the former Terriers executive who passed away in 2018, the award is presented annually to the player on each team who best exemplifies generosity of spirit, being a great teammate, sportsmanship, dedication to improvement and academic achievement. Anyone who knew John knows these five qualities were near and dear to his heart.

"Losing John after a courageous battle with cancer was a terrible blow to all of us," Terriers owner Mike Tevlin said. "To help keep him front and centre in all of our minds we are proud to name the following Terriers as recipients of the John Jepson award."

The following players were selected by their managers:

15U: Jackson Torrance

16U: Noah Konings 

17U: Connor Brown

18U: Ben Barzo and Keegan O'Hearn

"After the year we've all gone through, it was great to see these young men rise up and perform the way they did," Tevlin said. "John would be proud of all of them."